Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Book Review

📖Recommend for Grades 10 and up📖
by Tiffany Jackson
When she was nine-years-old, Mary B. Addison killed a three-month-old baby, allegedly. As she wasn’t saying much, the media filled in the blanks and blasted the main piece of news, a black girl killed a white baby while under the care of the black girl’s mother. Convicted by the jury, Mary was sent to Juvie then released to a group home. Now at sixteen, Mary finds herself pregnant. Upon hearing that there is a good chance her child will be taken from her once born, Mary decides it may be time to speak up and tell the truth about what happened that night. However, she doesn’t know what to do when her fate lies in the hands of somebody who can’t be trusted, her mother.
A compelling read that will have readers wondering what’s going to happen next. Jackson wonderfully writes Mary in a way where readers will be indecisive. They won’t know if they should feel for her and her situation or believe she did it and that she is getting what she deserves. Despite everything, Mary is an inspiring character in that she isn’t trying to let her situation keep her down. Readers should be aware that there are some sensitive topics, as well as content they may find inappropriate for them and foul language throughout the book.

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Book Review

📖Recommend for Grades 6 and up📖
by Raina Telgemeier
Callie may not sing well enough to be in her school’s musical, but that doesn’t stop her from being a part of the production by doing stage crew. As the cast and crew get ready for Moon over Mississippi, the drama unfolds both on and off stage. Even Callie is involved with romantic excitement involving a long-time crush, and twin brothers who are new to the school.
Fun and entertaining this story will keep you guessing what will happen until the very end. The author has filled the book with so many likable characters, with Callie at the heart of the story. There are some awkward moments throughout the story, but it makes the story feel more realistic. Delightful illustrations help tell the excellent story. Fans of Raina Telgemeier’s other works, who won’t be turned away by the LGBT+ characters, should be sure to read this book.
Library Catalog - E-book - Downloadable Audio

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Book Review

📖Recommend for Grades 8 and up📖
Book Review from the Bookster
Title: The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang & Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller
Book Edition: Audiobook (Physical Copy Available)
Genres: Fantasy, Adventure, & War. (Magic Realism)
Warnings: Violence, drugs, and child soldiers.
Series: Yes. Book 1 of 2 of the Poppy War.
The Poppy War is a dark read with a focus on religion, social class, and politics. The book reads like a pseudo history book based in Asia and when ruling families still controlled the empire. When the religion was polytheistic and changed regionally so that these gods were brought to life by what the region focused on the most (a fishing region has a god specific in help of fishing that they prayed and gave tribute too). The origin stories of the gods and heroes are a major part of the world and where the possible magic realism comes in. As the main character discovers through meditation and spiritual awakening the world of the gods. Although, her actions do have real world effect it’s not the majority belief that magic or the god’s ability are real. (Similar to the Boxer rebellion were they trained themselves spirtualy to be able to fight against those that where conquering their land. Read-Alike: Boxer by Gene Luen Yang.)

The main character Rin lived in the country side as a war orphan putting her in the lowest of the social scale in a society where upward progression is pretty much a fantasy that the nobles use to keep the lower class from rebelling. By scoring high on the Keju she becomes an enemy to the social order and is dragged in to politics of the land.      
Library Catalog - E-book - Downloadable Audio
*Please note UPL does not currently own this title but those interested are encouraged to ask about inter-loaning it from another library. Also, Bookster listened to this on a different platform and it is not currently available through Nassau Digital Library.